What was richard jewell accused of doing?

Centennial Olympic Park in Atlanta, Georgia, on July 27 during the 1996 Summer Olympics suffered a pipe bomb attack. Richard Jewell who was a security officer, discovered the backpack was investigated as the bomber but later the charges were dropped. The media presumed his guilt .