What hotel was the movie the shining filmed at?

Although the film was shot almost entirely in the studio at Elstree Studios in Hertfordshire, England, where the hotel interior was constructed, the exterior of the 'Overlook Hotel' is the Timberline Lodge, Mount Hood in the Hood River area of Northern Oregon.