What are the central park ranges?

From the movie ELF the central park rangers are a play on the urban park rangers. Since 1979, the Urban Park Rangers have helped New Yorkers and visitors to discover and explore NYC's natural world through environmental education, outdoor recreation, wildlife management, & active conservation.