Do ostriches really put their head in the sand?

No

---

No. Ostriches do not bury their heads in the sand! When an ostrich senses danger and cannot run away, it flops to the ground and remains still, with its head and neck flat on the ground in front of it. Because the head and neck are lightly colored, they blend in with the color of the soil.

---

Ostriches don't bury their heads in the sand, they wouldn't be able to breathe! But they do dig holes as nests for their eggs. Several times a day, an ostrich puts her head in the hole and turns the eggs. So it Only looks like they are burying their heads in the sand!