How do you get webs in minecraft?

Cobwebs can be obtained as an item using shears, or with a Silk Touch enchanted sword. A cobweb drops one piece of string if broken with a sword, or if water touches or flows over it, or a piston pushes it. It drops nothing when broken using anything else, or if lava flows over it.