What is tommy johns?

Tommy John Surgery, more formally known as ulnar collateral ligament (UCL) reconstruction, is used to repair a torn UCL inside the elbow. A UCL is a ligament on the inner side of the elbow that helps secure the elbow joint. Former MLB pitcher Tommy John was the first to have the surgery.