Why is it called an egg roll?

Nobody knows exactly why. One thought is a recipe featured in a Chinese-American cookbook from 1917 that calls for chicken, ham, sprouts, and mushrooms to be wrapped in a thin egg omelette. So, literally, an egg roll.

---

One theory is that there is egg in the batter for the wrappers, and another theory is that you brush egg on the wrapper while you roll the egg roll to seal it.