How much does an average autopsy cost?

A private autopsy by an outside expert can cost between $3,000 and $5,000. In some cases, there may be an additional charge for the transportation of the body to and from the autopsy facility.

---

The determinant fixed costs of an autopsy are a function of the hourly municipal pay rates in your area. The variable costs are a function of how long it takes to determine cause of death, whether through toxicology analysis or examination of organs by the Medical Examiner or Coroner.