What was the first rollercoaster built?

On June 16,1884 the first roller coaster in America opened at Coney Island in Brooklyn, New York. Known as a switchback railway, it was the brainchild of LaMarcus Thompson and travelled approximately six miles per hour at the cost of a nickel to ride.