How many miles is the blast radius of a nuclear bomb?

The size of a nuclear blast radius depends on the power of the bomb, whether the surrounding terrain is flat or sloped, and the shape of the charge. One rule of thumb recommends being at least five miles from ground zero to avoid the overpressure wave.