How is kimchi made?

The process of making kimchi involves salting the vegetables to draw out the water, which helps in preservation and allows the seasonings to penetrate the food over time; the final salt concentration ranges from 2-5%. Kimchi is typically fermented by wild cultures naturally present on the vegetables