What are the four mother sauces?

Marie-Antoine Carême considered the four grandes sauces of French cuisine in the early 19th century: béchamel, espagnole, velouté, and allemande. In the 20th century, Auguste Escoffier refined the list to the contemporary 5 mother sauces by dropping allemande and adding hollandaise and sauce tomate