Is there such thing as a snow tornado?

Yes. There is observational evidence that suggests tornadoes can occur in snow, but not nearly as strong or destructive. The closest thing in cold weather is called a 'cold air vortex'. They are very weak tornadoes forming when two air masses moving differently collide and create spin.