What is b. h. a. in food?

Butylated hydroxyanisole or BHA is a synthetic antioxidant that is used to prevent fats in foods from going rancid and as a defoaming agent for yeast. First synthesized in the late 1940s, the compound began being used as a food additive around 1947.