What's the difference between a characteristic and a trait?

Characteristic: a distinguishing feature or quality: Generosity is his chief characteristic. A feature that helps to identify, tell apart, or describe recognizably; a distinguishing mark or trait. Trait: a distinguishing characteristic or quality, especially of one's personal nature.