Why is alabama called the yellow hammer state?

Alabama has been known as the "Yellowhammer State" since the Civil War. The yellowhammer nickname was applied to the Confederate soldiers from Alabama when a company of young cavalry soldiers from Huntsville arrived at Hopkinsville, KY, where Gen. Forrest's troops were stationed.