How many ribs are in a female?

Humans usually have 24 ribs, 12 on the right and 12 on the left. Both males and females have 24 ribs that connect to 12 thoracic vertebrae. The first seven pair attach directly to the sternum (also called breastbone), with the remaining pairs being indirectly or not connected to the sternum.