Where does the phrase catch twenty two come from?

Catch-22 is the title of a novel by Joseph Heller. Rather late in the book, we learn that catch 22 means they can do anything to you that you can't prevent them from doing. It's an absurdity that illustrates real-life situations you can't change and can't get out of.