Who were the gideons?

The association takes its name from the Biblical figure Gideon depicted in Judges 6. The Gideons began distributing free Bibles, the endeavor for which it is chiefly known, in 1908, when the first Bibles were placed in the rooms of the Superior Hotel in Superior, Montana.