What are zombie ants?

If an ant is infected with Cordyceps fungus, it starts to climb to the top of branches. Within days it dies as the fungus sprouts from its head to release spores

---

Zombie ants are infected with a fungus that drives them to leave the mound and go to where it will best help the parasite spread. It then kills the ant.