What's the most common cat in the united states?

The Persian. This super popular breed has clinched the top spot in the US for nearly 30 years! Many know this breed for its affectionate and sweet personality, making it a perfect lap cat with all that fluff and adorable saucer-like eyes. Persians are popular all around the world.