What is a little rap?

The word lil, a shortening of little, first appeared in the 1800s. "It's in the form of a child's nursery rhyme — lil boy bear, lil gal bear," ABC language researcher (and rap fan) Tiger Webb said. "Some of those, honestly, you could transpose to hip hop names right now.