Who wrote the song red river valley?

The earliest known written manuscript of the lyrics to “Red River Valley” were found in Iowa bearing the notation of the year 1879. “Red River Valley” was first recorded as “Cowboy Love Song” in 1925 by Carl T. Sprague, one of the first cowboy singers from Texas.