Is a pomegranate a superfood?

Yes. Pomegranate seeds owe their superfood status to polyphenols, powerful antioxidants thought to offer heart health and anti-cancer benefits. ... In addition to antioxidants, pomegranates are a source of fibre, B vitamins, vitamin C, vitamin K and potassium.