What makes up a triathlon?

A triathalon is a race that has 3 different parts. The athletes compete for the best time in a combination of swimming, cycling, and running segments. The Olympic triathalon includes a 1.5 kilometer swim, 40 kilometer bicycle ride, and 10 kilometer run.