Who is sadie hawkins?

According to Medium.com Sadie was the product of cartoonist Al Capp’s fertile imagination. She was a character in his popular cartoon “Lil’ Abner” set in the hillbilly town of Dogpatch. Sadie can't get a date and a race is set up allowing her to "catch" a bachelor to marry.

---

Sadie Hawkins was a character in the Lil' Abner comic strip, which ran from 1934 to 1978