What is a dystopian book?

A dystopian book is a novel set in a society full of suffering or injustice. Dystopian books are often set in the future. Examples of dystopian books are 1984, The Handmaid's Tale, and Fahrenheit 451.

---

A dystopian book depicts a negative view of "the way the world is supposedly going in order to provide urgent propaganda for a change in direction." Examples: The Hunger Games: by Suzanne Collins: or, The Maze Runner: by James Dasher.