When was the word epic invented?

The word "epic" comes from the Greek "epikos," meaning a poem or story, and it only became an adjective in the late 16th century. At first, this term was used to describe long poems with heroic narratives, in which long periods of time passed and somewhat larger-than-life heroes did great deeds