When was the word epic invented?

according to merriam-Webster.com,the word epic comes from the greek, epikos, from the word epos, meaning word,speech or poem,1st known usage of the word EPIC as a noun was in 1583 and as an adjective in 1589. Other words from that same year of 1583,agonized,bookman,artful,favorite & vestal virgin.