Who is general von steuben?

Friedrich Wilhelm von Steuben (AKA General von Steuben) also known as Baron Friedrich von Steuben, was a Prussian military man hired by George Washington during the American Civil War, to train the Continental forces stationed at Valley Forge, PA. General von Steuben was an openly gay war hero.