How do you get a dog in animal crossing?

In Animal Crossing: New Horizons, unfortunately, as it is, there is no real way to get a pet. There are no cats or dogs, and to be frank, given the fact that your mates on your island are all animals, it would probably be sort of strange to have a pet dog or cat.