What state has the area code eight four four?

Area code 8 4 4 is used for toll free numbers and does not belong to any particular region, just like 800 numbers and other toll free area codes.

---

An 844 phone number is a designated North America toll-free number. This means phone calls to 844 numbers are always free for your callers in the US, Canada, and over a dozen other North American countries and territories.