Tell me about being blind?

Blindness -- the loss of one's vision -- can be debilitating even when it's only partial, but it doesn't have to be. The other senses don't actually become more acute, but the blind learn to depend on them more. With enough determination, a blind person can do nearly anything a sighted person can.