Why did dinosaurs exist?

Dinosaurs existed for the same reason every other life form on the planet exists -- they evolved to fit a niche in the environment. In the case of the dinosaurs, there were giant plants & giant animals & giant predators that evolved to prey on one another in the life cycle.