How long do you cook a half inch thick pork chop?

A good rule of thumb is 7 minutes of baking in a 400 degree oven per half inch of meat. If you sear your meat beforehand, reduce that amount of 2 minutes. If your pork chop has a large bone, you may need to add a few minutes to the cooking time.