Why is it called baking soda?

Baking soda is a leavening agent used in baked goods like cakes, muffins, and cookies. Formally known as sodium bicarbonate, it's a white crystalline powder that is naturally alkaline, or basic. Baking soda becomes activated when it's combined with both an acidic ingredient and a liquid.