What does gitchee gumi mean?

Many people, thanks to Henry Wadsworth Longfellow's “Hiawatha” poem (1855), have heard of Gitche Gumee, the shining Big-Sea-Water. ... Loosely, it does indeed mean “Big Sea” or “Huge Water,” but just about always refers to Lake Superior.