What does avocado taste like?

Flavor-wise, it sort of depends on the avocado and how ripe it is. There is no overwhelming taste, it's kind of muted. Some avocados I would describe as more buttery, while others have more of a nutty hint to them. Honestly, eating an avocado has more to do with texture than taste.