How long does it take to freeze cookie dough?

Freezing cookie dough usually takes about 4h, but why freeze it if going to use soon. So more importantly, is defrosting. Let the dough completely defrost in the refrigerator for about 6 hours overnight, or a couple of hours at room temperature. Plan ahead