Who gets the name the hurricanes?

Experts assign names to hurricanes according to a formal list of names that is approved prior to the start of each hurricane season. The U.S. National Hurricane Center started this practice in the early 1950s. Now, the World Meteorological Organization generates and maintains the list of names.