Where do red bananas come from?

Ripe red bananas do not grow in the U.S., with many imported from producers in East Africa, Asia, South America and the United Arab Emirates. Yellow bananas account for 95 percent of the banana varieties sold, making red bananas one of the most mysterious fruits.