When did the u. s. join world war two?

The United States entered World War 2 on December 7, 1941 following the bombing of the US naval base at Pearl Harbor. The president at the time, Franklin D Roosevelt said it would be a day that would live in infamy.

---

December 8, 1941. The Japanese bombed Pearl Harbor the day before, December 7, 1941. Congress declared war the next day.

---

America officially only enter World War 2 on December 8, 1941, after the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor in Hawaii. On December 11, 1941, Adolf Hitler declared war against the United States, the same day that the United States declared war on Germany and Italy.