What is a gaffany?

Did you mean gaffney? In Hebrew context the surname Gaffney is used for Jewish people whose ancestors were wine makers as "Geffen" is the Hebrew word for vitis. Notable people with the surname include: Beryl Gaffney (born 1930), Canadian politician.