Is alcohol a diuretic?

In short, yes. Drinking alcohol inhibits the body's release of the hormone vasopressin. Doctors also call vasopressin anti-diuretic hormone (ADH). Typically, the brain signals the release of ADH in response to an increase in particles over fluids (plasma osmolality).