What is sun and rising sign?

The placement of the sun on the day you were born determines your zodiac sign, and the time you were born determines your rising sign.

---

Sun sign is determined by the day of the year one was born. In astrology, this person will generally reflect the qualities associated with that sign. Rising sign refers to the zodiacal sign on the horizon at the time was born.