How did valentine's day get created?

During the Middle Ages, it was commonly believed that February 14 was the beginning of birds’ mating season, which added to the idea that it should be a day for romance. Geoffrey Chaucer was the first to record St. Valentine’s Day as a day of romantic celebration.