What year did elvis presley appear on the ed sullivan show?

Elvis Presley's first appearance on the Ed Sullivan Show was September 9, 1956. Viewers got to see the full Elvis - legs, hips, and all - during the second segment, when he performed the up-tempo Little Richard song 'Ready Teddy' and two verses of 'Hound Dog.