Is john hinckley junior incarcerated?

John Warnock Hinckley Jr. was never incarcerated, as he was found not guilty by reason of insanity on June 21, 1982. Instead he was confined to St. Elizabeths Hospital in Washington D.C, and released September 10, 2016, after a judged ruled he was no longer a threat to himself or others.