Who colonized jamaica?

Jamaica was an English colony from 1655 (when it was captured by the English from Spain) or 16 70 (when Spain formally ceded Jamaica to the English), and a British Colony from 1707 until 1962, when it became independent. Jamaica became a Crown colony in 1866.