What is a robotic engineer?

A robotics engineer, is a behind-the-scenes designer responsible for creating robots and robotic systems that are able to perform duties that humans are either unable, or prefer not to complete. For example, the Roomba was created to help humans with the mundane task of vacuuming floors.