What was the first puppet?

Puppetry is a very ancient form of theatre which was first recorded in the 5th century BC in Ancient Greece. Some forms of puppetry may have originated as long ago as 3000 years BC. Since it was that long ago, nobody remembers what the very first puppet ever made was.